“See You Again” Wiz or Wizout?

by David Bowen, reporter

A few Jim Thorpe High School students were asked, “When listening to ‘See You Again,’ would you listen to the Charlie Pugh version or the Wiz Khalifa version?

Austin Carilo, a Junior, was the first to answer. “I’ve only heard the one with Wiz,” he said, “That’s the real version.” I was shocked to learn that he had never even heard the one just by Charlie Pugh. He didn’t even want to hear it! He said “It wouldn’t sound right.” I can understand why I was so shocked. I’m not a huge fan of rap. Don’t get me wrong, the theme remains the same in both versions, and I like it. It’s about someone, for whatever reason, missing his or her friend.

Next to answer was Molly Behan, another Junior. She hadn’t heard the other version either. I told her to give it a chance, and this was her response: “Oh my gosh! I’d listen to the one without Wiz more! I love it! It’s so good!” She had also mentioned that she liked how Charlie Pugh added two more verses of his “Angelic Voice.” I definitely agree with her. His voice is indeed beautiful, and it sounds almost sad in the song.

A Freshman, Rayna Carr, was the last to answer. She said, “I like the one with Wiz more. I just like the way the slowness of the song is combined with the rap.” She does have a good point. There has to be a balance in everything. Sometimes opposites put together make an amazing thing. Sometimes? What am I saying? MOST of the time.

My personal opinion is that I’d rather listen to the one without Wiz Khalifa. Charlie Pugh’s voice alone just sounds much more emotional to me. Rap just doesn’t have much emotion. Nonetheless, both versions are very heartfelt and send a nice message.

Be the first to comment on "“See You Again” Wiz or Wizout?"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar