Teachers @ JTHS

Teachers are comparable to students in many ways. Generally, teachers have other hobbies and personal preferences of their own. Students may sometimes overlook the fact that teachers have lives of their own outside of these high school walls. In honor of teacher appreciation week approaching, a select few teachers have been asked a series of questions pertaining to their individual high school experiences.

Mr. Podlinski- Math teacher

  1. What is your funniest classroom moment?

I have spectacular jokes. For example, a student might say “I’m lost.” I respond, “You’re in 306.” or, “Can I ask you a question?” I respond, “I think you just did.”

  1. What is your weirdest classroom moment?

When students don’t understand my stellar jokes.

  1. Did you aspire to be a teacher when you were younger?

I knew I wanted to be a teacher a year or so into college. I really enjoyed Math and Science, and I had a great Biology teacher in high school. I think he was quite similar to the science faculty here. He was an excellent teacher and I think that started me thinking about teaching.

  1. Do you have any hobbies outside of school?

I love hanging out with my family and friends. I love working on my house, gardening, and I hope to raise chickens and bees in the very near future.

  1. What type of music do you listen to?

Mostly everything, but mostly country.

  1. Were you ever in trouble in high school?

Very rarely. If I did get in trouble it was for something silly. I was a little immature my freshman year of high school. The closest I came to getting in trouble was senior year. My Physics teacher was out sick during a lab day, and the sub didn’t know we had a double period. My friends and I didn’t go the second period, and thankfully the teacher signed my cut slip.

  1. When you were in high school, what was the most difficult subject for you?

Honors physics was the most difficult. I did not apply myself and I earned a C. I’m really glad I took the course because in college I remembered much of what learned and I earned an A- in college.

Mr. Spirk- Math teacher

What is your funniest classroom moment?

I have funny moments every day.

What is your weirdest classroom moment?

Students disagree with me all the time, one student disagreed with what I suggested for them even though it was better for them to do what I said, the student next to them “what are you doing? It would be better for you to do what he said”

Did you aspire to be a teacher when you were younger?

Not really, but I always had an idea that I possessed the skill set to be a good teacher.

Do you have any hobbies outside of school?

I like to golf.

What type of music do you listen to?

Usually music from the 80s and 90s.

Were you ever in trouble in high school?

Yes, I got into some trouble in high school.

When you were in high school, what was the most difficult subject for you?

I always struggled with the language arts.

Señor Getz- Spanish teacher

  1. What is your funniest classroom moment?

One time I was trying to demonstrate how students should properly sit in the desks, and I came in too hot and the entire desk toppled over.

  1. What is your weirdest classroom moment?

There are too many weird moments to count, but I’ll go with the time a student asked me if Mexico was in Spain.

  1. Did you aspire to be a teacher when you were younger?

I always knew I wanted to be a teacher. I like to delude myself into believing that I’m helping people.

  1. Do you have any hobbies outside of school?

Outside of school, I like to do anything that is quiet and relaxing. Being surrounded by so many people all day is kind of exhausting.

  1. What type of music do you listen to?

My favorite music is stuff that was popular when I was in high school, mostly whiny 90s alternative.

  1. Were you ever in trouble in high school?

I was never in trouble in high school, although I did get lunch detention once in 4th grade for throwing a spitball.

  1. When you were in high school, what was the most difficult subject for you?

In high school my worst subjects were science and math. I never understood why I should care about numbers if they’re imaginary.

Mrs. Moyer- English teacher

  1. What is your funniest classroom moment?

My students thought it was pretty funny when I choked on a fruit snack.  I’ve also heard that some of the things I say in class, either on purpose or by accident, have been pretty funny.  It was also pretty funny when I played Kate Bush’s “Wuthering Heights” music video.

  1. What is your weirdest classroom moment?

There are disappearing spiders in my classroom.  As soon as someone takes off a shoe or grabs a book to try and whack them, they’re gone.

  1. Did you aspire to be a teacher when you were younger?

I always wanted to be either a nurse or a teacher.

  1. Do you have any hobbies outside of school?

No, school is my life.  Just kidding, I like to read, hang out with my husband and my daughter, be outside when it’s nice out…just simple, normal things.

  1. What type of music do you listen to?

I like music that has a message, or that makes me feel a certain way.

  1. Were you ever in trouble in high school?

No; I was a good kid.

  1. When you were in high school, what was the most difficult subject for you?

Definitely math…

 

 

 

Be the first to comment on "Teachers @ JTHS"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar