Fires burning through California

Wildfires blaze through the state of California, destroying homes and wide amounts of land. California has been in a serious drought for about three years, and in August, 100% of the state was considered to be in a full drought. Fireworks have even been illegal for sometime now, and dozens of families were forced to evacuate to safer locations.

California resident, Chloe Hoff, had to evacuate her home for about a day to steer away from smoke and ash.

“My mom and I were always aware California has been prone to wildfires, but I never realized how close to my home it would be. I was almost annoyed when the fires broke out again this year. I really didn’t want to deal with the catastrophe it would bring. Other than my friend Kyle, I thankfully have no other friends or family losing anything to the fires.”

Ash Weinfurter, a California teen, was shocked by the affected area of the fires.

“I was worried when the fires grew closer to my local ice skating rink. Our indoor ice skating rink is where my friends and I spend most of our time, and my coworker had lost her entire house from the fires. There is not much to do to prevent these fires, which makes things worse. I’m glad they’ve made efforts to contain the fires, but it’s not always easy.”

Containing fires is a risky business, though. Aircraft plays a serious roll when keeping fires contained from freeways and towns.

“My dad used to be a firefighter,” says Kyle Luke, Yorba Linda local. “He’s retired now, and I can tell he wishes there was more he could do to help prevent these. Even simple things, like electrical equipment, cause serious fires. While I was at school a week or so ago, I got a call from my mom. Half of my house got caught into a fire and burned. Help came immediately and I did not lose too much to the fire, but it was terrifying to get that call.”

There have been over dozens of fatalities to these fires, with many people missing. Over 221,000 acres of land has been recently burned throughout California. National help is well needed.

About the Author

dayday9a
Daisy McCarty was born in the small dusty town of Amarillo, Texas. At two years old, she moved into Lehighton, Pennsylvania with her father and grandparents. Throughout her life, she had also lived in Nesquehoning, Summit Hill, Lansford, a bus in Summit Hill, and a separate location in Lehighton. She currently resides in Jim Thorpe. She lives with her father, his girlfriend, two cats, and an angry dog. McCarty is a barista at a coffee shop called Muggle’s Mug and busks on the street corner for extra money. She has no plans for attending college and will be graduating this year with the class of 2018. McCarty’s interests are not vast. While she has a strong sense of adventure, she often spends her free time playing guitar, rewatching America’s Next Top Model, and in White Bear, Pennsylvania with her best friends. She has been playing guitar for about five years and is completely self taught. She has done several shows at local coffee shops and will soon do an invite only show at the Mauch Chunk Opera House. Her father is in a local band called Free Range Folk who has multiple appearances at the Mauch Chunk Opera House, MusikFest, bars in the surrounding area, New Orleans, New York, and New Jersey. She hopes to spend her future remaining time to open up a new and unique bar with live performances in Baja, California or any popular city. From then on, she will continue to live wherever she is taken.

Be the first to comment on "Fires burning through California"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar