This one time, I broke curfew…

Have you ever been late, missed curfew, and it turned into a comical story about how you got caught or how you got away with it?

“This one time I broke my curfew…

My mom said to be home absolutely no later than eleven. I was driving around with some friends, fell asleep in the back seat, and lost track of time and messages from my mom. I woke and immediately had the driver take me home; it was past one in the morning! The door was locked. I imagine my mom thought I was already in bed. I went around the house, pulled open the laundry room window, and as I slid through, the dog started barking like crazy and my dad came running in as I was still hanging in the window. Needless to say, that was the last time I was late…”

  • Selena Magobet (Senior)

 

“This one time I broke my curfew…

Three friends, and myself went out to a diner. We were having a great time, but it was getting late and the curfew for all of us was ten. We went out to the car to find a flat tire, luckily, I had an old jack in the backseat. That took me about twenty minutes to get it up, when I decided to drive it to an auto store and get the tire fixed. By the time the girls got home, they were an hour late! This left me with one more friend to drop off and a long drive home. By the time I got home, I was in loads of trouble until I got to explain my story and my parents weren’t mad at all!”

  • Mr. Podlinski (Math teacher)

 

“This one time I broke curfew…

Curfew was always a big deal in my town. The fire whistle was at ten, and you had fifteen minutes to be home. I always tried to reason with my parents on why I should be allowed to stay out later than the town set curfew and I always got the same response, “My house, my rules.” My father was a creature of habit, and got home from work around midnight. My mom was a very sound sleeper. In my mind, if I didn’t get caught coming in the house, well I wasn’t really breaking the rules. I would some alleys to cut through town, cut through the park, one more alley,  go in the back gate, in the house by 11:45, which gave me a solid fifteen minutes before my dad got home. It was full proof. I had it down to a science, except one time. I was coming into the backdoor as my dad was coming through the front door. In all my infinite wisdom and quick thinking, I ran into the kitchen and turned back the clocks on the stove and the microwave to 10:30. When my father walked in the kitchen I quickly blurted out, “What are you doing home so early?” My father replied, “What are you doing up so late? It is after midnight.” I proceeded to point to the clocks and I even went upstairs and changed some clocks while I brought my watch down to show him. For that night I thought I convinced my father the clocks in the house were all the right time. I was pretty sure I actually had him until my sister came down in the morning and said, ‘Why are all the clocks off?’”

  • Mr. Pascoe (Science teacher)

 

“This one time I broke curfew…

This past weekend, I was out with friends and I told my mom I would be home for 1:30- 2:00 a.m. While we were out we stopped at McDonalds, ate, and were on our way home. On the way home, we were stopped by a cop and put us back almost an hour! When I got home finally I somehow managed to open the sliding door and make it in and all the way up into bed without being caught. The next morning my mom asked why the door was open. I couldn’t believe I forgot to close it! I told her I came in through the back door and she believed me. Close one!”

  • Tiana Eldridge (Junior)

 

“This one time I broke curfew…

I was 17. My two friends and I were hanging out. It was quarter to eleven and we were in down town. I had driven my friend home, which was about a thirty-minute drive. I drove him home and he made his curfew. It was now 11:05. My curfew was eleven. I had to make three double line passes and made it home by 11:30. My dad screamed and I wasn’t allowed to use the car for the week. “

  • Mr. Stienmetz (Substitute teacher)

 

So, the next time you think you are getting away with your sneaky tricks, make sure you have a backup plan in case you are late!

Be the first to comment on "This one time, I broke curfew…"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar